Faith and Family

I found this beautiful quote by an unknown writer:

“Our Family is a circle of strength; Founded on Faith, Joined in Love & Kept by God, Together…Forever.”

In my last post I outlined five topics that I was going to touch on throughout this blog and today I felt compelled to start with Faith and Family. So what does Family mean to me? In short, I believe our family is comprised of the people that we love.

The above is a rather simplistic explanation so let me elaborate. In my opinion, a Family is a tight unit joined, not only by blood and love, but by a commitment witnessed by God.  We live in an ever-evolving world with relentless sensory overload. Because of this, it is so easy to get caught up in the things of this world and forget the things that are most important. This is why I believe that in order for a family unit to exist in harmony, it must share the same morals and values that subsequently fuel it to thrive. This is why the quote above resonated with me so deeply. We all know there are dysfunctional families out there – we all have them – but when our family unit is not held together by something greater than our own self-interests, chaos and disjointedness can ensue.

In the case of my family, we follow one God – Jesus Christ. He guides our believes, and therefore, our morals and values. He is the foundation of our family and our faith in Him is what gives us the strength to respect one another as individuals, but also as a unit.

Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate. Matthew 19:6

We will forever be together – in this world and in the next.
photo 1

2 thoughts on “Faith and Family

  1. Wow… not sure if you guys remember me from our time at Grandview but I went back to our old school tonight for a regional basketball game and it got me remembering all the great times I had at that school. Wish I never would have left. I stumbled across your blog when I was looking for info on David and was so happy to see you guys are married and building your relationship on God. Glad to see that you two are doing well and congrats on having your first child. Please tell David I say hello and am very proud and happy for all his success.

Leave a comment