My Fulfilling Life as a Baseball Wife

Work-For-A-Cause-361x500“Work for a cause, not for applause. Live life to express, not to impress. Don’t strive to make your presence noticed, just make your absence felt.” –Unknown

It may be difficult for some of you to read the quote above and reason that a baseball player could relate. In many cases, baseball doesn’t seem like a “cause” or a form of “expression,” or even a job where you would strive to go “unnoticed.” Don’t all baseball players work for applause or to impress the world of baseball? In all honesty, I can’t speak for all athletes, but I can almost guarantee that those who ultimately make it big are working for something much greater than what the eye can see. The great ones find fulfillment in what they are doing and they do it for their own satisfaction. They love what they do and success is a byproduct of their daily devotion. When you look at it from that perspective, doesn’t it make all the sense in the world?

When David and I met in 8th grade, I knew immediately who he aspired to be. It may seem crazy that at 13someone could be so sure of what they wanted, but he, like many athletes, did. Ever since David could reason cognitively, he dreamed of his career as a baseball player. That vision was as strong and vivid then, as it is now. But if you were to break down the reasons David, like many baseball players, has such a dream, you would probably be surprised. If I had to pick one reason baseball has always been a part of David’s vision it would be, fulfillment. That’s right. It’s not because of praise, or applause, or – the ugly F-word – fame.  He plays baseball simply because it makes him happy and affords him to opportunity to go home everyday fulfilled. It’s that simple folks.

Fulfillment is often a key ingredient to success and happiness. Let’s take me as another example. I don’t have a 9-5 job and I don’t have a career per say, but that is ok for me because my fulfillment comes from somewhere else. Not every woman or baseball wife, for that matter, would be happy giving up a career, but I am. My fulfillment comes from taking care of my husband; That “work” that many women detest, like cooking, cleaning, running errands, scooping cat and dog poop and so on and so forth. The life of a baseball wife hardly leaves you with a blank to-do list but that is fine by me. I wake up every day fulfilled, knowing that I have a cause. And one day, when the little babies start coming, I will find even greater fulfillment in my daily work. The job of a wife and mother is often thankless and that is precisely why seeking applause or recognition isn’t the reason for doing something.

David and I have a 5…10…20 year and lifetime plan. We know what we want our future to look like and we are going after it. Above all, we are doing it out of love and for a greater cause.

Today I encourage you to think about what fulfills you and if you aren’t already doing it, go after it. Life is too short to live on the cusp.

Blessings!

4 thoughts on “My Fulfilling Life as a Baseball Wife

  1. Great post! With all the negatives in the press concerning athletes, it’s nice to be reminded of the ones who play for the right reasons. It puts into perspective how people view success. Is it being a Hall of Fame players, or simply be happy with playing baseball and having a great family? I would think that happiness and fullfillment would make someone successfull over mere statistics.
    -Mike
    http://minoringinbaseball.com/

    • Thank you Mike! It’s hard to be successful when you aren’t in it for the right reasons. David aspires for greatness in this game but if he loses fulfillment in doing so, that would be a near impossible feat. 🙂

      Have a great day!

Leave a comment